Wii Carnitas

Two many patterns & palettes!

Two many patterns & palettes!

Spending time with peers over good food and playing games never gets old.  Especially when forces of nature like MY friends come together in a tournament.  Competitive, determined, and outrageous!  You gotta love ’em!  This time the occasion was Adam’s birthday, the game was Wii Tennis and the food was of course… TACOS!  The options were/de carnitas (pork), rez deshebrada (shredded beef), and ground turkey & chicken (pavo molido y pollo) with chipotle.  The delicious meats were wrapped in single tiny street taco tortillas.  They were accompanied by your choice of tomatillo (green tomato) green sauce (mild-medium spicy), chunky creamy red tomato sauce (mild-medium) and guacamole (mild).  Hey it had to be non-Latin friendly spicy for the neighbors, but as long as the salsa is tasty, I don’t mind if its not spicy.  Tangy… I live for tang!  My favorite were the carnitas. 

Unfortunately I did not make it past the first round of tennis but my teammate Karina and I did improve our game.  I blame it on the hookah not the stilettos.

Now I have to mention my new found respect for tortillas because I have already learned so much from the pre-Colombian History class I’m taking in my return to school with three intentions: 

1. To fulfill my GE requirements for the BA I have yet to finish…

2. To learn about my culture is fulfilling and motivating, that’s why I’ve decided to go on a backpacking trip through the mesoamerican jungle from Oaxaca to the Yucatan Peninsula.  Action and Adventure, here I come!

3. I started an art collective last summer inspired by theories revolving around the year 2012.  One of the theories is based on the archaeological findings of the mesoamerican tribes (Aztec and Mayan) that our era “as we know it will end” when our planet lines up with the Milky Way & the sun.  This sounds intimidating but our calendar ends on December 31st every year and all we do is party and get a hangover. Will something happen, who knows but it is intriguing, that is why we chose this theme.

So learning more about this civilization has been insightful and inspiring.  Especially when you as a taco lover find out that corn was a work progress… for over 7,000 years!  The process started between 5,000 – 12,000 BC.  Corn was a product of early agricultural experimentation, along with the famous Tomato, Squash and Bean.  I knew Corn was divine because not only does my family still cultivate it, I’ve studied and visited some of the ancient civilization already.

So next time you have a taco, think about how long it took mesoamericans to make the corn in your tortilla.  Cuz I think, that’s hot!

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

